Your donation will directly impact the future of our CNS practice and will help contribute to the mission of the CNS Institute; serve to develop and promote the charitable, educational, innovative clinical practice, and scientific goals of NACNS.

Brenda L. Lyon Tribute

Brenda L. Lyon, PhD, RN, FAAN was a Founder and past-President (1996-
1997) of the National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists (NACNS). She
provided seminal leadership by working for statutory recognition of CNSs as
advanced practice nurses and publishing numerous articles and book chapters. Her recent book, Haven’t You Suffered Enough: Clinically Proven Methods to Conquer Stress (2020) was the source of a series of NACNS webinars presented by Dr. Lyon earlier this year. She was a recipient of the Indiana University School of Nursing Distinguished Alumni Award, the first Brenda L. Lyon Excellence in Leadership Award from NACNS, and the Indiana University W. George Pinnell Award for Outstanding Service. She was a Fellow in the American Academy of Nursing and in the American Academy of Practice-Nursing.

Sadly, Dr. Lyon died on October 21, 2020. CNSI is asking you to consider
donating in tribute to Brenda L. Lyon, nurse leader, nurse educator, nurse
researcher, and clinical nurse specialist par excellence. To recognize her
lifelong outstanding contributions to promote the visibility and value CNSs
bring to those who are suffering from complex illnesses. These funds will be
used to establish an award honoring Dr. Lyon’s work and supporting the
activities of CNSs.

Please consider supporting this initiative by making a donation by clicking here or mail your donation to:
Clinical Nurse Specialist Institute
Attn: Donation
401 Edgewater Place, Suite 600
Wakefield, MA 01880


How to Donate to the CNS Institute

Monetary Donations and Tributes
A monetary gift to the CNSI is a efficient and effective way for you to impact
the future of the CNS role. Your donation is fully tax deductible. Please
consider honoring a special person with a gift in their honor.

Amazon Smile
The CNS Institute is a participating member in the AmazonSmile donation
program.  If you select the CNS Institute as your 501(c) 3 organization, you
can then shop on through the AmazonSmile program and a
portion of your eligible purchases will be donated to the CNS Institute. Learn
more about the AmazonSmile Program. Sign up today!

Employer Matching Gifts
Many employers will match contributions to non-profits, like the CNS Institute.
Most companies will ask you to complete and return a form with the name and
contact information for the non-profit and often you will need the CNS
Institute tax ID number: 81-4345954.

Donate today!

Mail donations to: The Clinical Nurse Specialist Institute, 401 Edgewater Place, Suite 600, Wakefield, MA 01880

The Clinical Nurse Specialist Institute is the 501(c)3 arm of the National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists.