Past Winners

Susan B. Davidson Service Award

The Susan B. Davidson Service Award recognizes extraordinary service to NACNS. It is named for Susan B. Davidson, a founding member of NACNS who served two terms as President of the association and chaired the NACNS Research Committee.

This is awarded by the NACNS Board of Directors. Current board of directors not eligible.


Anne Hysong

Susan B. Fowler, PhD, RN, CNRN, FAHA

Dr. Susan Fowler is a Nurse Scientist at Orlando Health in Orlando, Florida.  She has focused her clinical career in critical care, the neurosciences, and rehabilitation as a clinical nurse specialist and Director.  Sue has been active in many professional nursing organizations including the 40the President of the American Association of Neuroscience Nurses.  She has been actively involved in NACNS on the annual planning committee including chair, legislative/regulatory committee, nominating committee, research committee, and Treasurer.  Dr. Fowler is current Treasurer for the CNSI and former Vice-Chair.  She received the Clinical Nurse Specialist Researcher of the Year award in 2019. Sue is passionate about mentoring.  She mentors nurses in their research, evidence-based practice, and publication efforts as well as DNP and PhD students at Thomas Edison State University and Walden University.  Sue is proud to be a graduate of Marquette University, CA State University-Long Beach, and Rutgers University.  Sue lives by her motto ‘to live life to its fullest.’


Kathy A. Baker, PhD, APRN, ACNS-BC, FAAN
Read the Press Release →


Elissa Brown, MSN, RN, PMHCNS-BC
Read the Press Release →


JoAnne Phillips, DNP, RN, CPPS
Read the Press Release →


Melanie Duffy, MSN, RN, CCRN, CCNS

Melanie Duffy, MSN, RN, CCRN, CCNS
Read the Press Release →


Stephen Patten, MSN, RN, CNS, CNOR
Read the Press Release →


Sharon D. Horner, PhD, RN, MC-CNS, FAAN
Read the Press Release →


Patricia O’Malley Ph.D., RN, CCRN, CNS
Read the Press Release →


Dr. Kathleen Baldwin


Dr. Kathleen Vollman


Dr. Barbara Hazard


Dr. Ann Mayo


Dr. Lisa Hopp


Dr. Nancy Dayhoff


Dr. Sue Davidson