Awards and Scholarships

Awards and Scholarships


The following scholarships are being offered during the NACNS Award Season. Our scholarships are open only to NACNS members, and are brought to you in partnership with CNS Institute.

(Please click on the scholarship title to view the description and criteria for each award, and to view the application form):

Did you know that CNSI offers travel and research grants exclusively to NACNS members? Click here for more information.


Each year the National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists recognizes individual members and affiliates who, through their extraordinary work, raise the profile of the clinical nurse specialist role, research, practice, education, and service. Award nominations open each year in the fall, and the application period for 2024 is now closed.

Congratulations to the 2024 NACNS Clinical Nurse Specialist Award Recipients!

The 2024 NACNS National Award Winners are:

  • CNS Preceptor of the Year: Latasia Belin, DNP, APRN, AGCNS-BC, ONC, FCNS
  • Academic Faculty Award: David F. Bradley Jr., DNP, RN, APRN, AGCNS-BC, CNOR, FCNS
  • Susan B. Davidson Service Award: Jan Powers, Ph.D., RN, CCRN, CCNS, NE-BC, FCCM, FAAN
  • CNS Mentor of the Year: Mary Lawanson-Nichols, MSN, RN, CNS, NP, CCRN
  • CNS of the Year: Pamela Moss, MSN, MPH, APRN-CNS, ACCNS-AG, CCRN-CSC
  • CNS Researcher of the Year: Sandra L. Siedlecki, Ph.D., APRN-CNS, FAAN
  • Armed Forces CNS of the Year: Tracy Ostrom, RN, DNP, APRN-BC
  • Rising Star of the Year: Megan Zondor, MSN, RN, AGCNS
  • NACNS Affiliate of the Year: Wisconsin Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists
  • CNS EBP/QI Award: Jodie Pufundt, DNP, APRN-CNS, RNC-NIC, EBP-C
  • Brenda Lyon Leadership Award: Michelle Defabio, DNP, MS, RN, ACNS-BC, NEA-BC, NPD-BC

View Past Award Winners