2021 Clinical Nurse Specialist Evidence-Based Practice/ Quality Improvement Award

The Fourth Annual NACNS Clinical Nurse Specialist Evidence-Based Practice / Quality Improvement Award will be presented during the 2021 Annual Conference.    

The purpose of the award is to nationally recognize an NACNS member for outstanding professional achievement as a clinical nurse specialist (CNS) who has implemented evidence-based practice (EBP) and provided quality improvement (QI) changes that have significantly impacted nursing practice, patient and family outcomes, and/or health care systems, including reducing cost. The award acknowledges a CNS for applying principles of EBP and QI to improve all patient care. Examples of evidence-based work include: implementation of an EBP model, translating evidence into practice using an EBP model, or dissemination of EBP projects through a variety of media.

Examples of quality improvement work include: use of data to monitor patient outcomes and reduce cost, use improvement methods to design and test changes to continuously improve patient care, or dissemination of quality improvement projects through a variety of media.

 Please review the criteria and submit a completed application with corresponding rationale supporting candidates who you recommend for this award.  

Currently Closed


  1. The candidate must be nominated by a nursing colleague.  
  2. Candidate meets their state of residence’s requirements for CNS recognition by their state board of nursing.   
  3. Active membership in NACNS for at least the past 2 years. 
  4. The candidate must have been educated as a CNS in a masters or doctoral program.   
  5. If selected, the candidate must agree to attend the NACNS annual conference, provide a photo suitable for inclusion in the conference program brochure, and provide a brief statement (see instructions, item 3 below) for publication on the NACNS website.  
  6. The candidate will have applied principles of EPB and QI to significantly improve patient level outcomes and or organizational outcomes.  
    • EBP and QI have impacted nursing practice, patient/family outcomes, and/or the healthcare system including reducing cost.   
    •  Dissemination of EBP and QI findings (publications and presentations). 
  7. The candidate’s EBP and QI work are consistent with the mission and vision of NACNS and supports the CNS role in the context of the NACNS Spheres of Influence.                      
    •  EBP and QI findings have been translated into practice and/or policy.    
    • Evidence of providing mentorship in EBP and QI.  


A plaque recognizing the winner will be presented at the NACNS conference and the winner will be featured in the CNS journal. Nontransferable complimentary one day NACNS conference registration will also be awarded.  


Applications received by the deadline will undergo review by the selection committee appointed by the Board of Directors. Award recipients will receive an email letter announcing if they have received their award and the day and time the award is planned to be presented. All candidate information must be received by September 30, 2020. This deadline will be strictly adhered to in the selection process. 


Nomination Packet includes: 

  1. One letter from the nominator, limited to 2-page maximum, written on letterhead and signed; and addressing the following: 
    • Indicate how the nominator knows the nominee (e.g., in what capacity/role, how long);  
    • Provide supportive information using the eligibility criteria (items #6 & 7 above) as subheadings, clearly describe the nominee’s work under each criterion/sub-heading. Be specific, not global.   
  2. One a letter of recommendation from a colleague who can speak to the candidate’s CNS work, limited to 2-page maximum.  Each of the criteria must be addressed in the letter with examples. 
  3. A copy of the nominee’s current CV/resumé
  4. All submissions must be typed copy. 
  5. Selection is made based only on the information submitted. 
  6. All information will remain strictly confidential and will not be returned. 
  7. Winner will be notified by December 2020 and will be asked to submit a picture for recognition at the conference. 


Sorry. This form is no longer available.