2021 Clinical Nurse Specialist Educator of the Year Award

The Thirteenth Annual NACNS Clinical Nurse Specialist Educator of the Year Award will be presented during the 2021 Annual Conference.

The purpose of the award is to nationally recognize an NACNS member for outstanding professional achievement as a Clinical Nurse Specialist (CNS) Educator. The award acknowledges a CNS educator’s commitment to excellence and innovation in preparing (novice or student or entry-to-practice) CNSs and in implementing (educational standards described in) the NACNS Statement on CNS Practice and Education  

Please review the criteria and submit a completed application with corresponding rationale supporting candidates who you recommend for this award. 

Currently Closed


  1. The candidate must be nominated by a nursing colleague, dean/department chair and/or graduate (CNS) nursing student(s). 
  2. Candidate meets their state of residence’s requirements for CNS recognition by their state board of nursing. 
  3. Active membership in NACNS for at least the past 2 years. 
  4. The candidate must have been educated as a CNS in a masters or doctoral program. 
  5. The candidate must have at least 3-years of experience as a CNS educator. 
  6. If selected, the candidate must agree to attend the NACNS annual conference and provide a photo suitable for inclusion in the conference program brochure. 
  7. The candidate must demonstrate excellence and innovation in CNS education.  Examples include: 
    • Demonstrates outstanding achievements in teaching students to implement the CNS role. 
    • Established educational, clinical, and/or health policy initiatives that promote CNS education in all 3 spheres of influence. 
    • Fosters educational approaches to improve nursing (basic and advanced) practice generally and CNS practice specifically. 
    • Incorporates innovative approaches to enhance inter professional collaboration in education and practice 
    • Generates theoretical and practical curricular/clinical approaches that address priorities in CNS education. 
    • Promotes change through collaboration at the system level to improve or influence CNS education and health policy related to CNS and APRN practice.


A plaque recognizing the winner will be presented at the NACNS conference and the winner will be featured in the CNS journal. Nontransferable complimentary one day NACNS conference registration will also be awarded.  


Applications received by the deadline will undergo review by the selection committee appointed by the Board of Directors.  Award recipients will receive an email letter announcing if they have received their award and the day and time the award is planned to be presented..  All candidate information must be received by September 30, 2020.  This deadline will be strictly adhered to in the selection process. 


Submit nomination package electronically via the form listed below.

Nomination Packet includes:

  1. One letter from the nominator, limited to 2-page maximum, written on letterhead and signed; and addressing the following:
    • Indicate how the nominator knows the nominee (e.g., in what capacity/role, how long);
    • Provide supportive information using the eligibility criteria (item #7 above) as subheadings, clearly describe the nominee’s work under each criterion/sub-heading. Be specific, not global.
  2. One a letter of recommendation from a colleague who can speak to the candidate’s CNS work in education, limited to 2-page maximum. Each of the criteria must be addressed in the letter with examples.
  3. A copy of the nominee’s current CV/resumé
  4. All submissions must be typed copy.
  5. Selection is made based only on the information submitted.
  6. All information will remain strictly confidential and will not be returned.
  7. Winner will be notified by December 2020 and will be asked to submit a picture for recognition at the conference.

Sorry. This form is no longer available.