Each year the National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists recognizes individual members and affiliates who, through their extraordinary work, raise the profile of the clinical nurse specialist role, research, practice, education and service. 

The NACNS 2020 awards season is open and will close on September 16, 2019.

The following are the awards being offered during the NACNS 2020 Award Season (Please click on the award title to view the description and criteria for each award. Please APPLY at the bottom of the page):

*Application Process and Criteria for the Individual Awards (CNS of the Year, Educator, EBP/QI, Preceptor, Researcher)

  • Applicants can be nominated by a colleague or they may nominate themselves.
  • All forms must be completed and submitted in full by September 16, 2019.
  • Applicants can be nominated for more than one award, but the Award Committee may determine which award they will receive.
  • Items to be included with your application :
    •  letter from the nominator;
    • a letter of recommendation from a colleague;
    • A copy of the nominee’s current CV/resume; and
    • A brief (300 word max) statement about the nominee and how their work has supported the specific award criteria.  In addition to being reviewed by the Awards Committee in their determination, this letter will be used in press releases and when the award is presented at the conference, if the nominee is accepted.

Apply for one of these 5 Awards

*Application Process and Criteria for the NACNS Affiliate of the Year Award

  • All forms must be completed and submitted in full by September 16, 2019.
  • Items to be included for the NACNS Affiliates of the Year Award include:
    • a document that addresses the eligibility criteria.  (This can be submitted as a narrative document or table)
    • a document that addresses each of the quality criteria noted in the award description
    • a 350- word statement as to why your group should receive this award.  This will be used in review by the Award Committee and if the affiliate is accepted, in a press release and when presenting the award at the Annual Conference.

Note Number 1:  Selection will be made based only on the information submitted.  The submitted documents will not be returned.

Note Number 2:  If your Affiliate has received this award in the last 4 years, you are not eligible to receive this award during this award cycle.

Apply for the Affiliate of the Year Award

Please note: If awarded, it is expected that the award recipient will attend the 2020 NACNS Annual Conference in Indianapolis, IN on March 10-13, 2019.  Award recipients will receive an email letter announcing if they have received their award and the day and time the award is planned to be presented.

*The Awards Committee reserves the right to not select an awardee for a specific award if the candidates do not meet the eligibility criteria.

View past winners of the following awards: