Press Room

NACNS Announces Clinical Nurse Specialist Award Recipients for 2024

US CNS Association Honors Remarkable Professional Excellence

WAKEFIELD, Mass. – Mar. 20, 2024 – The National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists (NACNS) has unveiled its 2024 award recipients, as well as the individual chosen as the president-elect: Rick Bassett, MSN, RN, APRN, ACNS-BC, CCRN, FCNS.

NACNS stands as the sole non-profit organization in the United States that advocates for the 89,000 clinical nurse specialists (CNS) across the nation. It is committed to the promotion and enhancement of the practice and educational standards related to the profession. CNSs constitute one of the four distinct categories within the Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (APRN) domain.

NACNS recognized outstanding achievements and contributions in the CNS field by presenting awards to its members and affiliated individuals. These individuals were chosen based on nominations and selections made by peers. 

“I am delighted to recognize these eleven dedicated CNSs who consistently go the extra mile and make significant contributions to the profession,” said Jennifer Manning, DNS, ACNS-BC, CNE, and NACNS president. “NACNS, and the CNS role, could not be where it is today without their invaluable support.” 

The 2024 NACNS National Award Winners are:

  1. CNS Preceptor of the Year: Latasia Belin, DNP, APRN, AGCNS-BC, ONC, FCNS
  2. Academic Faculty Award: David F. Bradley, Jr., DNP, RN, APRN, AGCNS-BC, CNOR, FCNS
  3. Susan B. Davidson Service Award: Jan Powers, Ph.D., RN, CCRN, CCNS, NE-BC, FCCM, FAAN
  4. CNS Mentor of the Year: Mary Lawanson-Nichols, MSN, RN, CNS, NP, CCRN
  5. CNS of the Year: Pamela Moss, MSN, MPH, APRN-CNS, ACCNS-AG, CCRN-CSC
  6. CNS Researcher of the Year: Sandra L. Siedlecki, Ph.D., APRN-CNS, FAAN
  7. Armed Forces CNS of the Year: Tracy Ostrom, RN, DNP, APRN-BC
  8. Rising Star of the Year: Megan Zondor, MSN, RN, AGCNS
  9. NACNS Affiliate of the Year: Wisconsin Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists
  10. CNS EBP/QI Award: Jodie Pufundt, DNP, APRN-CNS, RNC-NIC, EBP-C
  11. Brenda Lyon Leadership Award: Michelle Defabio, DNP, MS, RN, ACNS-BC, NEA-BC, NPD-BC

About the National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists

The National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists (NACNS) is the only national association representing the clinical nurse specialist (CNS). A CNS is an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (APRN) prepared by a master’s, or doctoral, or post-graduate certificate level CNS program. CNSs diagnose, prescribe, and treat patients and specialty populations across the continuum of care. The CNS improves outcomes by providing direct patient care, leading evidence-based practice, optimizing organizational systems, and advancing nursing practice. NACNS is dedicated to advancing CNS practice and education, and removing unnecessary and limiting regulatory barriers while assuring public access to quality CNS services. Learn more and discover the benefits of joining the NACNS.

Media Contact
Melissa Bednar
NACNS Public Relations
Tel: +1 781.876.8962

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *