CNS Achievement Board

NACNS celebrates with all of our CNSs their excellent achievements and recognitions.

Kim Elgin Receives 2022 ANCC Magnet Nurse of the Year: Structural Empowerment Award

Institution: University of Virginia Health
Celebrating: I was honored to recieve an award from ANCC and Magnet Commission.
Posted: December 6, 2022

As leader of the clinical nurse specialist (CNS) team at UVA Health in Charlottesville, VA, Dr. Kimberly Elgin has worked to remove barriers and support top-of-license practice for advanced practice providers within and beyond UVA. She is recognized at the local, regional, and national levels for her efforts to optimize the role of CNS in health care organizations, improving outcomes for patients and families. Over the past two years, Dr. Elgin advocated for revision to Virginia state legislation which elevates CNS scope of practice in the Commonwealth. She leveraged subsequent regulatory amendments to better align UVA’s CNS practice with other advanced practice provider roles and revamp processes and structures that improve interprofessional collaboration. The UVA Health CNS team has led best-practice initiatives to reduce patient falls, pressure ulcers, and hospital-acquired infections.

Additional Information

Podium Presenter at the APN International Council of Nurses Conference in Dublin, Ireland on Tuesday, August 23

Name: Mary Beth Modic, DNP,APRN-CNS,CDCES,FAAN
Institution: Cleveland Clinic
Celebrating: The dissemination of CNS work.
Posted: October 28, 2022

I shared the curriculum and outcomes of a CNS designed and facilitated empowerment experience for clinical nurses called MAGNUS.

Additional Information

American Academy of Nursing Announces the 2022 Class of New Fellows

Institution: N/A
Celebrating: the newly announced American Academy of Nursing Fellows
Posted: August 29, 2022

In total 10 CNSs are in the class of 2022 (there were 12 last year). This year, half of class (5) are NACNS members – last year 1/3 (4) were members. Please feel free to congratulate our members who are being recognized!

Maureen Seckel, MSN, APRN, ACNS-BC, CCNS, CCRN-K, FCCM, FCNS – ChristianaCare – NACNS Member
Daleen Penoyer, PhD, RN, CCRP, FCNS, FCCM – Orlando Health – NACNS Member
Michelle Patch, PhD, MSN, APRN-CNS, ACNS-BC, AFN-C – Johns Hopkins University – NACNS Member
Gail Bagwell, DNP, APRN, CNS – Nationwide Children’s Hospital – NACNS Member
Melissa Wilson, PhD, APRN, CCNS – United States Air Force – NACNS Member

Elena Flowers, PhD, MS, MAS, CNS, RN – University of California, San Francisco – Non member
Rosario Medina, PhD, FNP-BC, ACNP, CNS, FAANP – University of Colorado– Non member
Joyce Shea, DNSc, APRN, PMHCNS-BC – Fairfield University – Non member
Leslie Oleck, MSN, PMHNP-BC, PMHCNS-BC, LMFT –Psychiatric/Mental Health Nurse Practitioner – Non-Member
Karan Kverno, PhD, PMHNP-BC, PMHCNS-BC, FAANP – Johns Hopkins University – Non-Member

Additional Information

Sharon Horner was inducted into the Sigma International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame

Name: Sharon Horner, PhD, RN, CNS, FAAN
Institution: The University of Texas at Austin
Celebrating: my induction into the Sigma International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame during a ceremony held in Edinburgh Scotland on July 26, 2022.
Posted: August 10, 2022

Sigma’s International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame was established in 2010 to recognize nurse researchers who have sustained and impactful research on a national or international scale; research that is designed to improve the lives of people. The 2022 cohort brings the total number of inductees up to 270.
Sharon Horner is a past-president of NACNS (2016-2017) and currently serves on the Board of Trustees of the Clinical Nurse Specialist Institute. She is a parent-child CNS. Being inducted into the International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame recognizes the importance and impact of her work with parents and their children to improve the health of children with asthma.

Additional Information

Nursing Implications of the Updated 2021 Surviving Sepsis Campaign Guidelines

Name: Maureen Seckel, APRN, ACNS-BC, CCNS, CCRN-K, FCCM, FCNS
Institution: ChristianaCare
Celebrating: My invited review in the American Journal of Critical Care with my nursing co-authors Christa Schorr, Elizabeth Papathanassoglou, and Ruth Kleinpell of the 2021 Surviving Sepsis Guidelines.
Posted: July 28, 2022

Schorr CA, Seckel MA, Papathanassoglou E, Kleinpell R. Nursing Implications of the Updated 2021 Surviving Sepsis Campaign Guidelines. Am J Criti Care. 2022;31(4):329-336.

Additional Information

Publication from the Editor of Nursing Economics in response to My Letter to the Editor regarding CNSs absence in her article Against the Odds: How APNs shape and sustain health of populations

Name: Beckie Kronebusch, MS, APRN, AGCNS-BC
Celebrating: Publication
Posted: July 5, 2022

Kronebusch, B. (2022). Letter to the Editor: Coming Together to Advance Nursing Practice Roles. Nursing Economics, 40(2): 72.

The Editor Of Nursing Economics responded to my letter in the March/April issue of Nursing Economics addressing the absence of CNSs in her article regarding APNs. She references my letter to the editor as well as Reflections on Ambulatory Care Nursing by Cavanaugh et al. (2021).

Cavanaugh, K., Kronebusch, B., Luedke, T., & Pike, M. (2021). Reflections on Ambulatory Care Nursing. Clinical Nurse Specialist, 35(1): 31- 37

Additional Information

Lizz Pincus elected as AORN President-elect

Name: Lizz Pincus, MSN, MBA, RN, ACNS-BC, CNS-CP, CNOR
Institution: Stanford Health Care
Celebrating: My election as the President-elect for the Association of PeriOperative Registered Nurses (AORN)
Posted: June 29, 2022

Lizz was elected to be AORN's President-elect at their annual meeting in New Orleans in March 2022. She has previously served AORN as Vice President, Secretary and a member of the Board of Directors. Lizz has volunteered for the NACNS for many year on the Leg/Reg (2018-2022) and Education (2014-2018) committees. Lizz will assume the role of AORN President in April 2023 at AORN's 70th Global Surgical Conference & Expo, which will be held in San Antonio, Texas.

Additional Information

Erica Fischer-Cartlidge Appointed to be CCO of the Oncology Nursing Society

Name: Erica Fischer-Cartlidge, DNP, CNS, AOCNS, EBP-C
Celebrating: Appointed to the Chief Clinical Officer of the Oncology Nursing Society
Posted: June 9, 2022

See attached press release

Additional Information

Mitzi Saunders Co-Presents Prescriptive Authority for Clinical Nurse Specialists: Advocacy, Legislation, and Implementation

Name: Mitzi Saunders, PhD, APRN, CNS-C
Institution: University of Detroit Mercy
Celebrating: a Presentation
Posted: May 10, 2022

CNS Curbside Consult presented Prescriptive Authority for Clinical Nurse Specialists: Advocacy, Legislation, and Implementation featuring Mitzi M. Saunders, PhD, APRN, CNS-C and Paul Thurman, PhD, RN, ACNPC, CCNS, CCRN. The event took place on April 20, 2022.

Additional Information