Press Room

Texas Nurse Named Clinical Nurse Specialist Of The Year

Brittany Rhoades Honored By National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists

RESTON, VA – April 13, 2021 –The National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists (NACNS) announced today that Brittany Rhoades, Ph.D., APRN, CCNS at CHI St. Luke’s Health Baylor St. Luke’s Medical Center, Houston, TX was named the 2021 Clinical Nurse Specialist of the Year. Rhoades was recognized for her professional achievements and contributions to advancing the clinical nurse specialists (CNS) profession in the United States.

NACNS is the national organization for the 89,000 CNSs in the United States and is dedicated to advancing the practice and education of CNSs. Rhoades was nominated and selected to receive CNS of the Year honors by her advanced practice registered nursing peers.

More NACNS Award Program information can be found:

Rhoades has over 15 years of nursing experience and is currently a clinical nurse specialist providing direct care to heart transplant and left ventricular assist device patients in the Cardiothoracic Transplant Program at Baylor St Luke’s Medical Center. She started her career as a registered nurse at the University of Alabama at Birmingham before enrolling in the clinical nurse specialist program to become an advanced practice registered nurse.

Rhoades is actively involved in the profession having served on the board of the International Transplant Nurses Society and currently serving on the International Consortium of Circulatory Assist Clinicians. She has also served the community by providing hands-on left ventricular assist device education to the Houston Fire Department captains and supervisors.

Rhoades has a Ph.D. in Nursing from The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston and a Master of Science from the University of Alabama at Birmingham in Acute Care Clinical Nurse Specialist. She has Bachelor of Science degrees from Union University (Nursing) and Ouachita Baptist University (Biology).

About The National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists

The National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists (NACNS) is the only association representing the clinical nurse specialist (CNS). CNSs are advanced practice registered nurses who work in various specialties to ensure high-quality, evidence-based, patient-centered care. As leaders in health care settings, CNSs provide direct patient care and lead initiatives to improve care and clinical outcomes as well as reduce costs. NACNS is dedicated to advancing CNS practice and education, removing certification and regulatory barriers, and assuring the public access to quality CNS services. For more information or to join NACNS, click here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *