Press Room

National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists 2021 Award Winners Announced

National Awards Recognize Clinical Nurse Specialists for Outstanding Professional Achievement and Contributions to the Profession

RESTON, VA – May 10, 2021 – The National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists (NACNS) unveiled its 2021 award winners at its Annual Conference recently.  The nine award winners were honored for their professional achievement and contributions to advancing the clinical nurse specialists (CNS) profession in the United States.  NACNS is the national organization for the 89,000 CNSs in the United States and is dedicated to advancing the practice and education of CNSs.  Award winners were nominated and selected to receive the honors by their advanced practice registered nursing peers.  More NACNS Award Program information can be found:

“The professional success of these seven honorees embodies the spirit of the 2021 NACNS theme – ‘RISE’. ‘RISE’ signifies the ongoing growth and advancement of the CNS profession and its influence,” said Jan Powers, PhD, RN, CCNS, CCRN, NE-BC, FCCM, president, NACNS. “They were recognized for significant achievements and contributions in research, improving practice and educational opportunities as well as for raising the profile of the CNS in the profession.”

2021 NACNS National Award Winners

  • Affiliate of the Year: Central Indiana Organization of Clinical Nurse Specialists, IN
  • CNS of the Year: Brittany Rhoades, PhD, APRN, CCNS, CCTN, Baylor St. Luke’s Medical Center, Houston, TX
  • CNS Evidence-Based Practice/Quality Improvement: Geline Buenconsejo, RN MSN CNS PCCN, Sharp Chula Vista Medical Center, San Diego, CA
  • Mentor of the Year: Kimberly Pate, DNP, RN, ACCNS-AG, PCCN-K, Atrium Health’s Carolinas Medical Center, Charlotte, NC
  • Preceptor of the Year: Amy Patterson, MSN, APRN, AOCNS, BMTCN, Moffitt Cancer Center, Tampa, FL
  • Researcher of the Year: Susan Storey, PhD, RN, AOCNS, Indiana University, Bloomington, Indiana
  • Pamela Jane Nye Scholarship: F. Kay Butler, MSN, APRN, AGCNS-BC, CCRN, ACM-RM, RN the Know, LLC, Newport News, VA
  • Susan B. Davidson Service Award: Anne Hysong, MSN, APRN, CCNS, FCNS, Northside Hospital Duluth, Duluth, GA
  • Brenda Lyon Leadership Award: Vincent W. Holly, MSN, RN, CCRN, CCNS, Indiana University Health Bloomington, Bloomington, IN 

About The National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists

The National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists (NACNS) is the only national association representing the clinical nurse specialist (CNS). CNSs are the most versatile advanced practice registered nurses and work in a variety of health care specialties to ensure delivery of high-quality, evidence-based, patient-centered care. As leaders in the acute, post-acute, and ambulatory health care settings, CNSs impact direct patient care, nurses and nursing practice, and organizations and systems to optimize care and drive outstanding clinical outcomes. NACNS is dedicated to advancing CNS practice and education and removing unnecessary and limiting regulatory barriers, while assuring public access to quality CNS services. For more information or to join NACNS click here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *