Press Room

Sean M. Reed Elected President, Carrie Doyle Secretary/Treasurer and Judy Dusek, Kimberly Elgin and Phyllis Whitehead Directors of Leading National Nursing Association

At its 2019 annual conference, the National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists (NACNS) announced that Sean M. Reed, PhD, APN, ACNS-BC, ACHPN, won the position of President-Elect of the esteemed organization. Reed, who will assume the presidency in March of 2020, is Palliative Care & Aging Research Fellow at the School of Medicine and Assistant Professor, Adjunct at the College of Nursing, University of Colorado, Anschutz Medical Campus. NACNS represents thousands of clinical nurse specialists (CNSs) across the country who provide direct patient care and lead groundbreaking initiatives to improve the quality of health care and clinical outcomes, and reduce health care costs.

“I am thrilled to have been elected the next NACNS president,” Reed said. “I believe so strongly in the clinical nurse specialist and NACNS is the only national organization representing this type of advanced practice nurse. I look forward to working with the current officers as we enhance and raise awareness about the essential role clinical nurse specialists play in shaping our country’s health care system and improving care.”

NACNS members also elected Carrie Doyle DNP, APRN, ACNS-BC of Providence Alaska Medical Center to serve as the association’s new Secretary/Treasurer. “I am delighted that I will have the opportunity to use the expertise I developed providing strategic direction and legislative networking for a very large health care system in the state of Alaska at the national level. Our country’s health care system is at a crossroads and clinical nurse specialists have so much to offer. We intend to make our voices heard.”

Newly elected to the NACNS board of directors are:

  • Judy Dusek, DNP, M.Ed., APRN-CNS, CMSRN, ACNS-BC, Consultant, Clinical Professional Development, Clinical Nurse Specialist: Medical-Surgical, Orthopedics, Oncology & Medical Intensive Care Unit, Ascension Via Christi Hospitals Wichita, Inc.;
  • Kimberly W. Elgin, DNP, RN, ACNS-BC, PCCN, CMSRN, Clinical Nurse Specialist, Surgical Subspecialties, University of Virginia Health System, Clinical Assistant Professor of Nursing, University of Virginia; and
  • Phyllis Whitehead, PhD, APRN, ACHPN, RN-BC, Clinical Nurse Specialist, Palliative Medicine/Pain Management, Carilion Roanoke Memorial Hospital, Associate Professor, Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine.

The board sets the organization’s mission and priorities, values and direction. It is also responsible for overseeing strategic planning, programs, services and more.

“Every one of the men and women who stepped up to run for office and won these positions are remarkable. I know their contributions to NACNS, to the nursing profession, and to health care in this country will be significant and meaningful,” said NACNS current President Tracy Chamblee, PhD, APRN, PCNS-BC, CPHQ, CPPS, of Dallas, Texas. “The association’s newly elected leaders have demonstrated impressive leadership in nursing education, practice, research and administration. As we identify opportunities to grow our association’s membership, increase our influence and enhance our reach, I know they will be exactly the leaders we need. NACNS is in very good hands.”

#   #   #  #

Founded in 1995, The National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists is the only association representing the clinical nurse specialist (CNS). CNSs are advanced practice registered nurses who work in a variety of specialties to ensure high-quality, evidence-based, patient-centered care. As leaders in health care settings, CNSs provide direct patient care and lead initiatives to improve care and clinical outcomes, and reduce costs. NACNS is dedicated to advancing CNS practice and education, removing certification and regulatory barriers, and assuring the public access to quality CNS services.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *