Press Room

Texas Christian University’s Kathy Baker Honored with National Nursing Service Award

At its annual conference in Florida last month, the National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists (NACNS) presented its prestigious Sue B. Davidson Service Award to Kathy Baker, PhD, APRN, ACNS-BC, FAAN, associate professor and director of Nursing Research & Scholarship at Texas Christian University. This award recognizes extraordinary service to NACNS. It is named for Susan B. Davidson, a founding member of NACNS who served two terms as the association’s president and chaired the NACNS Research Committee.

A board certified Adult Clinical Nurse Specialist and co-director of the Society of Gastroenterology Nurses and Associates (SGNA), Baker is editor-in-chief of Gastroenterology Nursing. She is a fellow in the prestigious American Academy of Nursing.

“Kathy Baker is a dynamo and a changemaker who has proudly and successfully represented NACNS for many years at the national level,” said NACNS Immediate Past President Anne E. Hysong, MSN, APRN, CCNS, ACNS-BC, in giving Baker the award. “She exemplifies the very best of NACNS and what clinical nurse specialists can do.”

Baker received her doctoral degree in 2003 from the University of Texas, Austin School of Nursing, a master of science degree in nursing from Texas Woman’s University in Dallas in 1988, and a bachelor of science in nursing degree from Baylor University in 1981.

The awards bestowed at the conference were given to:

  • The CNS of the Year award was given to Lori Brittingham, MSN, RN, CNS, ACCNS-N of Reading Hospital.
  • The Susan B. Davidson Award for extraordinary service to NACNS went to Kathy Baker, PhD, RN, ACNS-BC, FAAN, Director, Nursing Research and Scholarship, Texas Christian University Harris School of Nursing.
  • The Brenda Lyon Leadership Award, which recognizes extraordinary leadership in service to NACNS, was given to Lisa Hopp, PhD, RN, FAAN, Dean and Professor, Purdue University Northwest.
  • The CNS Educator of the Year Award was bestowed on Susan Dresser, MSN, APRN-CNS, CCRN, director of the Adult-Gerontology CNS Program at the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center.
  • The Researcher of the Year Award was given to Susan B. Fowler, PhD, RN, CNRN, FAHA, Nurse Scientist, Center for Nursing Research at Orlando Health.
  • The CNS Evidence Based Practice (EBP) / Quality Improvement (QI) of the Year Award – given for the first time – to Maureen Seckel, MSN, APRN, ACNS-BC, CCNS, CCRN, FCCM, who serves in the Critical Care CNS role at Christiana Care Health System.
  • The Preceptor of the Year award was given to Patricia Radovich, PhD, CNS, FCCM.
  • Affiliate of the Year Award was bestowed on the California Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists.

#   #   #  #

Founded in 1995, The National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists is the only association representing the clinical nurse specialist (CNS). CNSs are advanced practice registered nurses who work in a variety of specialties to ensure high-quality, evidence-based, patient-centered care. As leaders in health care settings, CNSs provide direct patient care and lead initiatives to improve care and clinical outcomes, and reduce costs. NACNS is dedicated to advancing CNS practice and education, removing certification and regulatory barriers, and assuring the public access to quality CNS services.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *