Press Room

Orlando Health’s Susan Fowler Receives National Honor, Named Researcher of the Year by Leading Nursing Association

At its annual conference in Florida last month, the National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists (NACNS) presented its prestigious Researcher of the Year Award to Susan Fowler, PhD, RN, CNRN, FAHA.

Fowler has been involved in research since the mid-1990s. Since joining Orlando Health in 2017, she has completed 13 studies with colleagues, with findings disseminated at eight conferences and in five peer-reviewed journals. Her program of research includes topics such as bladder management, hope, medications, patient perceptions, vital signs, and stroke. While working at Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital in New Jersey, she served in a variety of research roles including research assistant, director of clinical trials, clinical nurse researcher, director of nursing research, and nurse scientist, always focused on the clinical aspects of research, especially its conduct in the clinical setting. Fowler received her PhD from Rutgers, the State University of New Jersey.

This award recognizes an NACNS member for outstanding professional achievement as a clinical nurse specialist who has conducted original nursing research that has significantly impacted the art and science of nursing practice, patient and family outcomes, and/or health care systems.

“It is my great honor to present the Researcher of the Year Award to Susan Fowler,” said NACNS Immediate Past President Anne E. Hysong, MSN, APRN, CCNS, ACNS-BC. “She has a passion for mentoring nurses and therapy colleagues in research and evidence-based practice projects. Sue is an active member of many nursing organizations and has served on research panels and committees for NACNS, the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses, the Eastern and Southern Nursing Research Societies, and the Association of Rehabilitation Nurses. She is an extraordinarily accomplished role model.”

The awards bestowed at the conference were given to:

  • The CNS of the Year award was given to Lori Brittingham, MSN, RN, CNS, ACCNS-N of Reading Hospital.
  • The Susan B. Davidson Award for extraordinary service to NACNS went to Kathy Baker, PhD, RN, ACNS-BC, FAAN, Director, Nursing Research and Scholarship, Texas Christian University Harris School of Nursing.
  • The Brenda Lyon Leadership Award, which recognizes extraordinary leadership in service to NACNS, was given to Lisa Hopp, PhD, RN, FAAN, Dean and Professor, Purdue University Northwest.
  • The CNS Educator of the Year Award was bestowed on Susan Dresser, MSN, APRN-CNS, CCRN, director of the Adult-Gerontology CNS Program at the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center.
  • The Researcher of the Year Award was given to Susan B. Fowler, PhD, RN, CNRN, FAHA, Nurse Scientist, Center for Nursing Research at Orlando Health.
  • The CNS Evidence Based Practice (EBP) / Quality Improvement (QI) of the Year Award – given for the first time – to Maureen Seckel, MSN, APRN, ACNS-BC, CCNS, CCRN, FCCM, who serves in the Critical Care CNS role at Christiana Care Health System.
  • The Preceptor of the Year award was given to Patricia Radovich, PhD, CNS, FCCM.
  • Affiliate of the Year Award was bestowed on the California Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists.

#   #   #  #

Founded in 1995, The National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists is the only association representing the clinical nurse specialist (CNS). CNSs are advanced practice registered nurses who work in a variety of specialties to ensure high-quality, evidence-based, patient-centered care. As leaders in health care settings, CNSs provide direct patient care and lead initiatives to improve care and clinical outcomes, and reduce costs. NACNS is dedicated to advancing CNS practice and education, removing certification and regulatory barriers, and assuring the public access to quality CNS services.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *