Press Room

National Nursing Association Announces 2018 Board of Directors and Nominating Committee Members

The National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists announced its 2018-2019 Board of Directors at the group’s annual conference in Austin, Texas earlier this month. NACNS represents thousands of clinical nurse specialists (CNSs) nationwide who provide direct patient care and lead initiatives to improve health care quality and clinical outcomes, and reduce costs. The newly elected board members demonstrate leadership in nursing education, practice, research and administration.

NACNS Board members are elected by the membership. The Board of Directors is responsible for establishing the organization’s mission, purpose, values and direction.  The Board also oversees the association’s strategic planning, evaluation, programs, services and utilization of resources. Each Board member serves a two-year term. They are:


President – Anne Hysong, MSN, APRN, CCNS, ACNS-BC, Critical Care Clinical Nurse Specialist at Gwinnett Medical Center, Duluth, Georgia.

President-elect – Tracy Chamblee, PhD, APRN, PCNS-BC, CPHQ, CPPS, Senior Director, Quality and Patient Safety at Children’s Health, Children’s Medical Center in Dallas, Texas.

Directors at Large

Niloufar Hadidi, PhD, APRN, ACNS-BC, FAHA, Associate Professor (tenured) and Coordinator of the Adult/Gero Clinical Nurse Specialist/Doctor of Nursing Practice (CNS/DNP) Program at the University of Minnesota Medical Center in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

Jan Powers, PhD, RN, CCRN, CCNS, CNRN, NE-BC, Director of Nursing Research and Professional Practice at Parkview Regional Health System in Fort Wayne, Indiana.

Susan Smith, DNP, APRN, ACNS-BC, Adult Clinical Nurse Specialist at Baylor University Medical Center, Critical Care Services in Dallas, Texas.

NACNS also announced three newly-elected Nominating Committee members. The Nominating Committee is responsible for reviewing nominations for the Board of Directors and presenting the final slate of candidates for Board approval before elections are held. The new members of the Nominating Committee are:

Claudia Barone, DNP, EdD, APRN, CCNS-BC, CTTS, Nicholas P. Lang MD and Helen F. Lang, RN Endowed Professor at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences College of Nursing, Little Rock, Arkansas.

Amy Kyes, MSN, RN, CRNI, APRN, AGCNS-BC, Clinical Nurse Specialist in Heart and Vascular at Mercy Health Saint Mary’s in Grand Rapids, Michigan.

Susan Schedler, MSN, APRN, ACNS-BC, CMSRN, Acute Care Clinical Nurse Specialist in Medical-Surgical/Oncology at Shawnee Mission Medical Center in Merriam, Kansas.

Traci Smith, MSN, APRN, ACCNS-AG, CCRN, Clinical Nurse Specialist in Cardiac Services at WellStar Health System in Marietta, Georgia.

#   #   #  #

Founded in 1995, The National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists is the only association representing the clinical nurse specialist (CNS). CNSs are advanced practice registered nurses who work in a variety of specialties to ensure high-quality, evidence-based, patient-centered care. As leaders in health care settings, CNSs provide direct patient care and lead initiatives to improve care and clinical outcomes, and reduce costs. NACNS is dedicated to advancing CNS practice and education, removing certification and regulatory barriers, and assuring the public access to quality CNS services.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *