Press Room

National Nursing Association Announces 2017 Board of Directors and Nominating Committee Members

The National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists announced its 2017-2018 Board of Directors at the group’s annual conference in Atlanta last month. NACNS represents thousands of clinical nurse specialists (CNSs) nationwide who provide direct patient care and lead initiatives to improve health care quality and clinical outcomes, and reduce costs. The newly elected board members demonstrate leadership in nursing education, practice, research and administration. They are:


  • President – Vincent Holly, MSN, RN, CCRN, CCNS, Critical Care Clinical Nurse Specialist at Indiana University Health, Bloomington Hospital in Bloomington, Ind.
  • President-elect – Anne Hysong, MSN, APRN, CCNS, ACNS-BC Critical Care Clinical Nurse Specialist at Gwinnett Medical Center, Duluth, Ga.
  • Secretary/Treasurer – Sean Reed, PhD, APN, ACNS-BC, ACHPN, Assistant Professor and Adjunct at the University of Colorado, College of Nursing in Aurora, Colo.


  • Carrie Doyle, DNP, RN, ACNS-BC, Director of Clinical Practice, Research, and Staff Development at Providence Alaska Medical Center in Anchorage, Alaska.
  • Ginger S. Pierson, PhD(c), RN, CCRN, CCNS, Full-time Faculty/Instructor II at West Coast University in Orange County, Calif.
  • Anita J. White, MSN, APRN, ACNS-BC, CCRN, Clinical Nurse Specialist: MICU at Cleveland Clinic in Cleveland, Ohio.

NACNS Board members are elected by the membership. The Board of Directors is responsible for establishing the organization’s mission, purpose, values and direction.  The Board also oversees the association’s strategic planning, evaluation, programs, services and utilization of resources. Each Board member serves a two-year term.

NACNS also announced three newly-elected Nominating Committee members. The Nominating Committee is responsible for reviewing nominations for the Board of Directors and presenting the final slate of candidates for Board approval before elections are held. The new members of the Nominating Committee are:

  • Megan C. Greenman, MSN, RN, CCNS, CWCN, Clinical Nurse Specialist, Department of Nursing Practice and Innovation at Upstate University Hospital, Community Campus in Syracuse, N.Y and current Doctor of Nursing Practice student at Upstate Medical University, College of Nursing in Syracuse, N.Y.
  • Mitzi Saunders, PhD, RN, ACNS-BC, Associate Professor and Graduate Coordinator, AG-CNS, at the University of Detroit Mercy in Detroit, Mich.
  • Brandee Wornhoff, MSN, RN, CNS-BC, Clinical Nurse Specialist, Critical Care Areas, at Hendricks Regional Health in Danville, Ind.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *