Press Room

National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists Announces 2016 Board of Directors

The National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists (NACNS) announced its 2016-2017 Board of Directors at the group’s annual conference earlier this month. NACNS represents thousands of clinical nurse specialists (CNSs) nationwide who provide direct patient care and lead initiatives to improve health care quality and clinical outcomes, and reduce costs. The newly elected board members demonstrate leadership in nursing education, practice, research and administration. They are:

President – Sharon Horner, PhD, RN, MC-CNS, FAAN, Professor and Dolores V. Sands Chair in Nursing Research at the University of Texas in Austin.

President-elect – Vincent Holly, MSN, RN, CCRN, CCNS, Critical Care Clinical Nurse Specialist at Indiana University Health, Bloomington Hospital in Bloomington, Ind.

Linda Hoke, PhD, RN, CCNS, AGCNS-BC, CCRN, WCC, Clinical Nurse Specialist in the Cardiac Intermediate Care Unit at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia.

Jo Ellen Rust, MSN, RN, CNS, Clinical Nurse Specialist for Children with Complex Health Care Needs in the Riley Circle of Care Program at Riley Hospital for Children in Indianapolis.

Linda Thurby-Hay, DNP, RN, ACNS-BC, BC-ADM, CDE, Adult Health Clinical Nurse Specialist in the Virginia Commonwealth University Health System in Richmond, Va.

Yvonne Dobbenga-Rhodes, MS, RNC-OB, CNS, CNS-BC, CPN, Maternal-Child Health Clinical Nurse Specialist in the Washington Hospital Healthcare System and Adjunct Professor at Holy Names University and Ohlone Community College in Fremont, Calif.

NACNS Board members are elected by the membership. The Board of Directors is responsible for establishing the organization’s mission, purpose, values and direction. The Board also oversees the association’s strategic planning, evaluation, programs, services and utilization of resources. Each Board member serves a two-year term.

NACNS also announced two newly-elected Nominating Committee members. The Nominating Committee is responsible for reviewing nominations for the Board of Directors and presenting the final slate of candidates for Board approval before elections are held. The two new members of the Nominating Committee are:

Jennifer Kitchens, MSN, RN, ACNS-BC, CVRN, Clinical Nurse Specialist Acuity Adaptable at Eskenazi Health in Indianapolis.

Angela Candidi Larson, MSN, CNS, RN, CCNS, CCRN, Adult Acute Care Clinical Nurse Specialist at the University of Florida Health Shands Hospital in Gainesville, Fla.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *