Press Room

National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists Announces 2014 Board of Directors

Orlando, FL – The National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists (NACNS) today announced its 2014 Board of Directors. NACNS represents thousands of clinical nurse specialists (CNSs) nationwide who provide direct patient care and lead initiatives to improve care and clinical outcomes, and reduce costs. The announcement was made at NACNS’ annual conference. The newly elected board members demonstrate leadership in nursing education, practice, research and administration. They are:

President – Les Rodriguez, MSN, MPH, RN, ACNS-BC, APRN, CNS in Pain Management at Arlington Oaks Medical Clinics in Arlington, Texas.

President-Elect – Peggy Barksdale, MSN, RN, CNS-BC, OCNS-C, CNS at the Community Health Network in Indianapolis, Indiana, and adjunct faculty at the Indiana University School of Nursing in Indianapolis.

Vice President – Rachel Moody, MS, CNS, RN, Northern Indiana Regional Director for Critical Care and Infection Control at the Franciscan Alliance in Hammond, Indiana.

Secretary– Anne Hysong, MSN, APRN, CCNS, CNS and Team Leader for the Therapeutic Hypothermia After Cardiac Arrest team at Gwinnett Medical Center, in Duluth, Georgia.


Gayle Timmerman, PhD, RN, CNS, FAAN, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Associate Professor at the University of Texas at Austin School of Nursing.

Deborah Tuggle, MN, APRN, CCNS, FCCM, Director, Educator and Consultant of the Critical Care Curriculum and a critical care CNS at Central Baptist Hospital in Lexington, Kentucky.

NACNS Board members are elected by the membership. The Board of Directors is responsible for establishing the organization’s mission, purpose, values and direction. The Board also oversees the association’s strategic planning, evaluation, programs, services and utilization of resources. Each Board member serves a two-year term.

NACNS also announced two newly-elected Nominating Committee members. The Nominating Committee is responsible for reviewing nominations for the Board of Directors and presenting the final slate of candidates for Board approval before elections are held. The two new members of the Nominating Committee are:

Jean Christopher, MSN, CNS, WCC, CNS in the Pediatric Intensive Care Unit at Akron Children’s Hospital in Akron, Ohio.

Theresa Murray, RN, MSN, CCRN, CNS at Community Hospitals Indianapolis, President and Owner of Critical Concepts, and Adjunct Faculty at Indiana University.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *