Press Room

NACNS First President’s Award Recipient Announced

PHILADELPHIA, PA – The National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists (NACNS) today announced the NACNS President’s Award recipient. This award was one of six awards presented at the March 7 – 9, 2013 Annual Conference, held at the Hyatt Regency San Antonio , San Antonio, TX.

Kelly Goudreau, DSN, RN, ACNS-BC, FAAN was awarded the first NACNS President’s Award. This award recognizes an individual for extraordinary service to NACNS. This award was established in 2012 to honor individual’s or groups who contribute significantly toward the accomplishment of the NACNS’ mission. This award is given by the NACNS President and is not considered an annual award. It may be given at the discretion of the President. This candidate was selected by the 2012 NACNS President, Rachel Moody, MS, CNS, RN and unanimously endorsed by the NACNS Board of Directors.

Dr. Goudreau is an amazing NACNS member and had been invested in the growth and workings of NACNS over her professional career. Dr. Goudreau is currently Associate Director for Patient Care Services/Nurse Executive of the Veteran’s Affairs Southern Oregon Rehabilitation Center and Clinics (VA SORCC) White City, Oregon.

Dr. Goudreau is the Associate Editor for Clinical Nurse Specialist: The Journal of Advanced Nursing Practice, since 2008. She served as the NACNS president-elect from 2005-2006 and became NACNS President in 2006-2007. Dr. Goudreau represented NACNS as a participant on the Joint Dialogue Workgroup that created the APRN Regulatory Model (published July 2008).

She is engaged in professional endeavors that include her role as co-chair of the Adult-

Gerontology Competency Task Force convened by American Association of Colleges of Nursing and the Hartford Foundation (January 2008-present) and served as a commissioner of the American Nurses Credentialing Center Commission on Certification (2005-2006). She began work as a site visitor for the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education in 2001.

She is a member of a number of professional associations where she lends her leadership skills including the: American Nurses Association, Oregon Nursing Association, Sigma Theta Tau, Canadian Nursing Association, American Organization of Nurse Executives, Oregon Council of Clinical Nurse Specialists, Northwest Organization of Nurse Executives and the American College of Healthcare Executives.

“Dr. Goudreau’s self-less work for the nursing profession as well as NACNS make her the perfect inaugural recipient of this award. Dr. Goudreau’s ongoing efforts and unique achievements have helped NACNS to achieve many organizational goals and make significant steps toward defining the invaluable contribution of the clinical nurse specialist role.” said NACNS 2012 President, Rachel Moody, MS, CNS, RN.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *