Press Room

Clinical Nurse Specialist of the Year Announced

PHILADELPHIA, PA – The National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists (NACNS) today announced the Clinical Nurse Specialist (CNS) of the Year Award recipient. This award was one of five awards presented at the March 7 – 9, 2013 Annual Conference, held at the San Antonio, Hyatt Regency San Antonio, San Antonio, TX.

Brenda McCulloch, MSN, RN, CNS, RCIS received the CNS of the Year Award. This award was created by NACNS to nationally recognize a NACNS member for outstanding professional achievement in all aspects of CNS practice. The award acknowledges a nurse who demonstrates CNS competencies and exemplary practice in patient care, nursing and health care delivery systems. Ms. McCulloch is the 12th recipient of this award.

Ms. McCulloch is employed as a Clinical Nurse Specialist at Sutter Medical Center- Sacramento. In this role she is responsible for the clinical and quality support for medical and interventional cardiology services. She develops departmental and hospital-wide protocols and procedures and provides expert clinical support on ongoing education to the cardiac catheterization and electrophysiology laboratories, post-interventional telemetry units, and intensive care units.

Described as an “experienced, dedicated and inspiring Clinical Nurse Specialist who is admired and respected by staff, physicians, administrators and patients.” Brenda has been praised for going above and beyond to improve nursing knowledge and ensure patient safety.

An expert in her specialty, she eagerly shares her knowledge with students and colleagues. Brenda’s influence is seen throughout her clinical area and in the community where she is described as a well-respected clinical expert.

“Ms. McCulloch’s expertise as a CNS has helped improve the care of thousands of patients and families. Ms. McCulloch is an excellent role model for all of us,” said Carol Manchester, MSN, ACNS, BC-ADM, CDE NACNS 2013 President. “Her work demonstrates the qualities that we look for in the CNS of the Year.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *