Press Room

Brenda Lyon Leadership Award Recipient Announced

PHILADELPHIA, PA – The National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists (NACNS) today announced the Brenda Lyon Leadership Award recipient. This award was one of seven awards presented at the March 7 – 9, 2013 Annual Conference, held at the Hyatt Regency San Antonio , San Antonio, TX.

Ann Mayo, DNSc., RN, FAAN currently works at the Hahn School of Nursing & Health Science, University of San Diego where she is a Professor in the MSN and PhD degree programs offered by this university. Dr Mayo was awarded the Brenda Lyon Leadership Award. This award recognizes an individual for extraordinary leadership in service to NACNS. It is named in honor of Dr. Brenda Lyon, a founding member, and second President, who served as chair and co-chair of the Legislative/Regulatory Committee. This award is bestowed by the NACNS Board of Directors.

Dr. Mayo has served on the NACNS Research Committee since 2002 and has been NACNS’ representative to the Interagency Collaborative on Nursing Statistics (ICONS). She is currently the chair of ICONS. Dr. Mayo has just been elected to a term on the NACNS Nominating Committee. Her commitment to this committee has just begun. She is an extremely knowledgeable and trusted advisor to researchers and the NACNS Board of Directors. Her willingness to donate time and talent helps to ensure that NACNS continues to serve the needs of members and the larger nursing community.

“Dr. Mayo is a qualified nursing researcher and a stunning nursing leader who’s contribution exemplifies the commitment needed to leave a legacy for future generations of nurses. Dr. Mayo provides strong leadership in many forums and she is frequently sought after to represent the clinical nurse specialist role in many collegial professional organizations.” said NACNS 2013 President, Carol Manchester, MSN, ACNS, BC- ADM, CDE.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *