Press Room

Leading Advanced Practice Nursing Organization Announces New Board Members

Philadelphia, PA—The National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists today announced its newly elected members of its 2012 Board of Directors. The following individuals have demonstrated leadership in nursing education, practice, research and administration and have been elected by their peers to serve in this important role.

Carol Manchester, MSN, ACNS, BC-ADM, CDE is currently employed as the Diabetes Clinical Nurse Specialist at University of Minnesota Medical Center, Fairview, Minneapolis, MN. Ms. Manchester has extensive association experience and has served on the NACNS Board of Directors since 2007. She recently resigned the position as treasurer to take the position as president-elect. Ms. Manchester is an active member of the American Association of Diabetes Educators and has worked on a variant of work groups with this organization.

“Carol is an outstanding, thoughtful leader,” stated NACNS 2012 President, Rachel Moody, MS, CNS, RN. “I look forward to working with her this year and am confident that NACNS will thrive under her leadership in 2013.”

Anne Muller, MSN, ACNS-BC, RN, was appointed to complete Ms. Manchester’s term as Treasurer. “Anne graciously accepted the additional responsibilities of NACNS Treasurer in order to ensure NACNS continues to make strides toward our strategic goals,” noted Ms. Moody.

Ms. Muller is currently employed as the Director of Critical-Care, Acute Care Division for Universal Health Services, Inc. In this position Ms. Muller works with both intensive and progressive care units throughout all 25 acute care hospitals. Among her responsibilities, she evaluates the standards of care in place in critical care, communication tools, safe transition of care, professional nurse autonomy and competency and professional practice strategies. Ms. Muller has been on the NACNS Board of Directors since 2010.

Tanya D. Williams, MSN, RN, CCRN-BC, RN has been elected as the 2012-2014 NACNS Secretary. She is currently a Critical-Care Clinical Nurse Specialist of a Progressive Care Unit at the Louis Stokes Cleveland Veteran’s Administration Medical Center. She serves as the expert for nursing care practices, research and quality improvement initiatives for the facility.

Anne Hysong, MSN, APRN, CCNS was elected to a two-year term as a Board Member. Ms. Hysong is a Critical-Care Clinical Nurse Specialist at Gwinnett Medical Center in Duluth, Duluth GA. In this position she facilitates nurse education and evaluation of competency in providing quality care to patients, including development of critical care nurse resident curriculum. She also collaborates with other nursing leaders to establish best practice standards through policy and nursing practice including product evaluation and implementation.

Gayle Timmerman, PhD, RN, CNS is an Associate Professor at the University of Texas at the Austin School of Nursing, Austin, Texas. Dr. Timmerman has done research and published in the field of eating patterns that impact weight management. She has most recently focused on mindful restaurant eating as an intervention to prevent weight gain. Dr. Timmerman was elected to a two-year term as a Board Member to the NACNS Board of Directors.

“I am truly privileged to serve with the 2012 Board of Directors. Ms. Williams, Ms. Hysong and Dr. Timmerman will be an asset to the NACNS Board of Directors. Ms. Manchester and Ms. Muller have strong leadership skills and will continue to bring these skills to the NACNS Board. We rely on high-caliber volunteers to do the work of the association,” said NACNS 2012 President, Rachel Moody, MS, CNS, RN “Our nation is struggling to pull out of a significant economic recession and working to implement changes in healthcare delivery in order to meet the needs of an aging population. The clinical nurse specialist is an important contributor to the provision of high quality healthcare. The 2012 NACNS Board is focused on setting policy to support the future path for the CNS.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *